Author Topic: 5ax  (Read 3450 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oakie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 8
5ax
« on: January 04, 2011, 02:30:13 PM »
HI Happy new year every one and wish all best.I have building 5ax milling config..xyzab I'm struggling to find cam program afford able I need help!!and I'll post picture.   

Offline Weerasak

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1453
  • -Receive: 3643
  • Posts: 2580
Re: 5ax
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2011, 03:31:44 PM »
Hi Oakie,

Happy hippy new year to you too.

yeah, it is costly for CAM/CAM software, but LazyCam is free.

There should be ,at least, a free CAD/CAM app in modern world. especially for Linux.

If you go for underground world, there should be plenty of them. but I can't say a word. Google with well known app name, You should find one.
 
good luck

Offline oakie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5ax
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2011, 03:32:04 PM »
Thank you I have posted on lazycam (free)in many form of drawing not straight forward.I still have more question how to conflagration ABC axis on mach3 I have been running MACH3 for some year these is my extend project Thank again I'll go have a look at your suggest.

Offline Weerasak

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1453
  • -Receive: 3643
  • Posts: 2580
Re: 5ax
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2011, 10:03:07 PM »
Oakie,  you confused me. You said, You have been using Mach3 for years but asking for axis configuration.

I guess may be you are a user, never mind, here the way to configure Mach3

follow these steps

Config->Ports and Pins->Motor Outputs

you will see a list of axes running from X to C
you need to specify your hardware connection for ports and pins

for example
step, direction, dir active low, step active low, step port, dir port
2, 3, ticked, ticked, 1, 1
4, 5, ticked, ticked, 1, 1
6, 7, ticked, ticked, 1, 1


Offline oakie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5ax
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2011, 05:06:06 AM »
I'm so sorry I should said Axis Calibration on A B I do know how to do X Y Z.
 
But A and B axis will be a degrees.

Thank you reply me so quickly

Offline Weerasak

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1453
  • -Receive: 3643
  • Posts: 2580
Re: 5ax
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2011, 03:34:27 PM »
Hi Oakie,

in this case, Do you want to know "steps per unit" for your rotary table?

BTW. Do you stay in UK?

Offline Weerasak

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1453
  • -Receive: 3643
  • Posts: 2580
Re: 5ax
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2011, 09:04:36 PM »
the formula for Steps per Degree

[motor steps per rev] X [gear ratio] / 360

for example, I have a 1/8 microstep driver  which drives at 1600 steps per revolution and also I have deduction gear head at 10:1 ratio, my number will be.

1600 X 10 / 360 = 44.44444444

I have to put 44.44444444 in "steps per" in motor tuning.

After you have your"steps per degree", You can test it by entering value 360 in A axis DRO and click on goto zero button, your turn table should rotate 360 degree exactly :D

Offline oakie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5ax
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2011, 02:17:04 AM »
HI i did not reply your question early

Yes I'm in UK your answer right on spot my gear head on B axis 10:1 ratio

Since you ask these my untidy work shop and 5 axis milling machine.


Edit: unzip and upload picture
« Last Edit: January 10, 2011, 10:27:46 AM by Weerasak »

Offline Weerasak

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1453
  • -Receive: 3643
  • Posts: 2580
Re: 5ax
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2011, 11:02:12 AM »
Wow, another type of 5 axis milling machine, I’ve never seen this type of modification before, may be because my short of internet surfing, I usually see bed type.

Your modification looks pretty easy to do - Tilting a spindle head and add rotation head to the table.

Do you mind if I'd like to see more and closely on your machine, particularly on 4th and 5th axis? It would be great if you show us “how to” to your modification.

I don’t mind to your untidy workshop, we usually concentrate our attention on our work but not on our apparent.  ;D

Offline oakie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 3
  • -Receive: 5
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5ax
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2011, 03:35:14 PM »
Here we some of my pic of 4,5 axis the 5 axis it's detach able I'm using good high speed spider with ceramic ball bearing for good duty my is 750w can modified normal router too full component ceramic ball bearing I'll strip 5 axis to see the detail later not so complicate.

The 4axis I have modified from 2ndhand spider head w/ another belt drive and i did go further w/attach more spider motor opposite stepper motor for working as Late.         
 





Edit: upload pictures
« Last Edit: January 11, 2011, 07:22:52 PM by Weerasak »

Offline Weerasak

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 1453
  • -Receive: 3643
  • Posts: 2580
Re: 5ax
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2011, 07:41:27 PM »
I can see both 4th and 5th axis are detachable and their mechanism is much easier than I thought. Is the ceramic bearing spindle as expensive as the 5ax?

I guess you will enjoy using your 5ax :D, most hobbyists love to have, at least, this type of machine.  :o

Will you modify your lathe become cnc able too?